Food Research Project: The Avocado

Birds are chirping outside and dew is just barely beginning to evaporate on the tips of grass. The last days of March are coming to an end and what a great month it has been! Weekends were filled with spring skiing, two birthdays in the family have passed, and the valley is gaining bloomed flowers and warm sunshine. And on this fine Saturday morning, my dad and I decide to spend some quality time doing what we do best, watching TV.  In the middle of our movie (Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets), my dad decides to grab a spoon and an avocado to snack on. Between the food, Harry Potter, and the couch, everything seemed to be in place.

Watching my dad eat that avocado brought me back to the first time I ever laid my eyes on one.  I recall my dad eating an avocado when I was around seven years old, eating it in the same manner as he was now.  But he never once offered a bite to me, but how could he not? He knew green was my favorite color!  I guess he thought avocados were only for adults, and I would cringe at the though of eating one. Little did he know that when I got older I wouldn’t be able to get enough of them, especially since I’m willing to pay so much for it whenever I stop by Chipotle or Jalepenos in Old Towne Orange.

I still remember wondering, “Where did dad get this type of food?” I had gone grocery shopping with him many times when I was younger, always going to the Albertsons right down the street from my house. Surely it couldn’t have grown in the harsh winters of Salt Lake City, or anywhere in Utah for that matter! “This must be a conspiracy, and my dad has to be working for the black market,” I thought. But never before had I seen such gracious and smooth scoops of something edible.  Eventually he let me had a bite.  It was then I knew avocados would be a part of my future. That bite changed my life.

Some would argue the conquistadors took over south-central America for land, gold, and other plunder. I would say the avocado is what kept them anchored.

After a long night out with the boys I felt drained the next morning. Reaching for my water bottle next to the bed, I realized I needed something more substantial and filling. That was when I thought of Chipotle. Just the thought of the infamous steak burrito had me drooling…. I had to raise my friends from the grave and make the trek to Chipotle.

guac

Credit – stitchuptees.com

As a college student I don’t think I could be more broke. Between supporting sorority girls at their philanthropies, attesting to my friend’s thirstiness, and eating out, my bank account continues to dwindle. So when the damn guy at Chipotle asks if I know it’s $1.90 extra for guacamole…

On a Sunday afternoon I managed to make it over to Chipotle, despite my lack of transportation and in-sufficient funds, to do some research on avocado’s and consumer demand. Confirming they charge $1.90 extra for guacamole, whether on a burrito or on the side, I was flabbergasted by the results I witnessed. Out of the 34 people that came in while I was there, 26 purchased guacamole! The general percentage of guacamole go-getters was 70% of the people who stepped through the door.

I have to say that this time, I didn’t even get guacamole. I didn’t even get a steak burrito! The veggie-new burrito I ordered was the best bang for your buck, coming with your choice of three sides at $4.50.

Something I looked for in Chipotle was the type of people who didn’t order guacamole. While a large group of nurses who came in all got guacamole, I saw a couple younger men who looked to be college students pass up the guacamole. The reasons for this are obvious. The nurses, however, probably took into account the hours they just worked and the health benefits of avocados.

Whenever I make the trek to Chipotle my friend David is down, he absolutely loves their burritos. When I went with him after my project’s topic was decided, I noticed that David orders guacamole on his burrito’s; so I asked him how he felt about paying extra. “I’ve gotten used to being charged that much so it doesn’t phase me any more. I know I’m going to be already spending a lot on a burrito, so I feel like a might as well go it,” he said.

Another young couple came in for burrito bowls. Naturally, the lady ordered first and when asked if paying extra for guacamole was ok, she helplessly looked at her boyfriend and asked “can I get guacamole?” His reply was complacent, not phased but not too stoked on the idea. He wasn’t ordering any guacamole for himself…

Sitting quietly while taking my notes, one young man in his late thirties was ordering a burrito with his two kids and wife behind him. When the guy behind the glass asked him if it was ok that guacamole was one-ninety extra, his reply was apparently something that doesn’t happen that often. He said, “two dollars? A whole two dollars extra? Nah, forget it.” I took notice to see his wife ordered guacamole right after the scene…

Thankfully I was able to catch this guy on his way out. After introducing myself I told him his reaction was exactly what I was reporting about, and why he didn’t pay extra for guacamole. “I think it’s ridiculous, absolutely absurd. Your already paying $6.00 for a burrito and they want to charge you $2.00 more.” I went on to agree with him and we moved the conversation to a more economical standpoint. “I can see if there’s a shortage in supply why they would charge that much, but we’re in California. There’s no shortage of avocado’s here,” he said.

So what does this all mean? Well, given the percentages, people are very willing to spend extra on that avocado, and companies like Chipotle can get away with it. CJ, a cashier and fellow guacamole server at Chipotle, gave me the memo on how often this reaction comes from the customer. “I’ve been working here for four months now,” he said. “That’s the second customer I’ve seen have a loud and upset reaction to our prices. Most people still say yes but if they don’t I can understand where they’re coming from.” They don’t care how much they have to afford, even if the price for a little avocado is 25% of the burrito.

Sometime between 7000 and 5000 BC, God with his gracious fingertip allowed the avocado a place in this world.  Archeologists have found domesticated avocado seeds buried with Incan mummies dating back to around 750 BC. Today, they are amongst the most important fruits traded in the entire world, and this isn’t for no reason. They are arguably the most tasty and nutritious fruits on the market.

When eating avocado’s you can be as creative as you want to be. Five minutes ago I just threw some on my sandwhich along with turkey, tomatoes, lettuce, and mayonnaise. My personal favorite in the sandwitch department, when I can get my hands on some bacon, consists of turkey, bacon, and avocado. If you don’t like this combination I don’t know how to appease your apetite.

A more common method, such as the one Chipotle uses, is mixing avocado with a series of ingredients like pico de gallo or many secret methods that various restaurants use. Combined with Chips, this makes a delicious apetizer before a delicious meal or goes well in a burrito.

Like I said before, you can be creative. Thanks to my teacher, I have mixed avocodo, a central american orignal fruit, with Mjaddarah, a famous lebanese dish. To understand how truly great this combination would be, explore my previous blogs! I promise you won’t regret it…

Because the avocado is in such high demand, places like Chipotle can abuse the price. And I’m not just criticising Chipotle, but many other restruants charge extra for guacamole, or avocado. They realize how much people want to enjoy the substance, and use the monopolist price to achieve the highest income per distribution.

I can tell you now, until I plant an avocado tree in my backyard and start producing, I will be a victim of this doop. Avocado’s are life; they give you pleasure, healthy ness, and overall well-being.

Leave a comment